Moahahaha, ITS ALIVE!!!

OKay, it was ages ago since I actually posted something here but I have had alot to do and all that random crap ;)

Well, I got the system to run! Firstly I could only get it to run with half of the RAM, 16 GB, and that was fine for the purpose I had started it that time.
I only started it and ran it from a USB stick with Tin Hat Gentoo because a friend of mine needed the computational power for a contest he was in (A biological genetik algorithm of some sort) and in the meanwhile I successfully located and bought 4-pin molex to SATA power converters and plugged in the harddisk into the system.

After som fiddling with the RAM, trying more or less every different seating combo..., I managed to get it to accept 32 GB but for some odd reason it can only use 28GB of that (which I found a vague explanation about the 4GB that is "gone" is for PCIe somehow)

But I am installing the server as I write this and man it is a monster. It recompiled the entire system, from a empty tree (emerge -e @world) in roughly 1h 23m, it is insane.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Philippe

What new fields is the newborn monster up to conquer now ? ;)

2011-09-14 @ 14:29:15

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0